The summer leading up to your first year of college can be super stressful, but I’m going to give you some tips for how to ease your worries and make sure you’re as prepared as possible for this huge transition!

Facebook Pages & Group Chats

giphyrg.gif

I know this was a huge deal for me when I went to college. Not all schools will have a Facebook page, but if they do it’s super important to join it. Not only will it give the chance to meet your future classmates, but they may also use it to remind you of important things you have to do before Move-In Day. Even though I’ve always started college, they still use these Facebook groups to advertise for events on campus and to communicate with the class as a whole.

These pages are great because if you ever have any questions you can post them there and you’re sure to get the answer you’re looking for. A lot of upperclassmen are added to these groups with the sole purpose of answering your questions, so don’t be shy!

Within the Facebook pages, we had a couple of group chats form. Sometimes they do this through apps like GroupMe, or just through text, but I thought it was really cool to text and chat with my future classmates. This would also be a good idea to start if you go to something like an admitted freshmen day or a shadow day when you meet other potential students.

Find Your Own Roommate

giphy (3).gif

It can be stressful to think about who you’ll be paired with as a roommate. If you’re really worried about it you can try and find you own roommate. I did, and I’m so glad because we’re best friends still today. This is another reason a lot of schools set up these Facebook groups. You can chat with your future classmates, and if you find someone that you really like you might want to consider rooming with them. However, you have to be careful when choosing someone to live with. Just because you have things in common doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be compatible as roommates. In the future I’ll post a separate article on how to go about finding your own roommate, but if you make a good choice it can be a great comfort going into your first year of college.

If you opt to let the school do its magic and pair you with a roommate, you can still take the time to talk to them, get to know them, and discuss how you’re going to live together. If you can become friends with your roommate right off the bat it will make your transition into college that much easier and more comfortable.

Plan, Plan, Plan

giphy (4).gif

I’m a textbook overthinker and overplanner, so when I was getting ready to go off to college it made me feel a lot better to think through all the details and plan them out. I designed a layout for how I was going to set up my dorm room, I put together schedules for what I was going to do when, and color coded everything I owned. If you’ve thoroughly thought through every tiny little detail, it might make you feel a little bit more comfortable when you move in for your freshman year.

Planning for me also meant that I spent a lot of time on the weekends going down to my college town and exploring. This made me feel more prepared for school because I was starting to feel comfortable in this new place before my parents just up and left me there.

Research Your School

swaa75.gif

The summer before I went off to college, my mom made it her mission to learn every single little thing there was to know about my university. She and I spent hours weaving through the school’s website and we ended finding a lot of little details we wouldn’t have otherwise. This is the same thing a lot of people do when they plan a vacation to another country. You have to gather as much information as you can about the place you’re going to, and it can make you feel much more secure.

When you move in at college you are sure to start learning a lot about your campus, but it would be great if you already knew a lot about it. Becoming an expert can also help when it comes to meeting new people because you can explain things that are going on to others. People might think you’re cool if you seem like you know all the secrets of the school.

Talk to Current/Former Students

source.gif

It doesn’t have to be someone who goes to your particular school, but talking to others who have gone through college is a great resource. If your parents, sibling, or friends have gone to college before don’t be afraid to ask them any questions you have. If someone had a great college experience, they usually love to share about it. Personally, I love talking to people about my experiences in college, and I get really excited when people ask me about it.

If you’re a part of the Facebook group for your school, try talking to upperclassmen who are on the page. Usually, if they’ve joined the freshman class page its because they want to answer your questions. There are no dumb questions, and getting answers will definitely make you feel more comfortable about going away to college.

Get Ahead

QUVSNc.gif

I know no one wants to do homework over the summer, but if you really want to be prepared for your classes, you can get a head start on some reading. If you purchase your textbooks early you can start to look through them and see what kinds of things you’re going to be learning about.

Also, if you have a class you are particularly nervous about, it might help to work on your skills a little bit. Being a music major, I spent the summer before college taking piano lessons so I would have a leg up when I started my piano class at school.

Want to Hear More?

Moving away and going to college is a huge change and it can stress you out a lot. But if you take it one small step at a time and make sure you’re properly prepared, you have nothing to worry about!

If you liked this post please let me know! If you want more posts like this in the future please tell me! If you ever have any other questions about college, applications, or anything else please feel free to ask me! And if you ever have any requests or suggestions for my next post please let me know!!!

Leave a Reply

